Derailed By A Netbook

Can you believe that this morning I was actually considering being able to fly out to LA next month for one night just to see Paul F. Tompkins and Paget Brewster?

Not anymore.

See, at 5:15 PM today I was working on my Netbook when it froze. So I hit the power button, expecting to restart it. No dice. It refused to boot. I took it to Dad, who messed around with it and concluded that it wouldn’t boot.

I, however, need a laptop on which to work. No laptop = no work = no money. And we all know what no money means, especially in this economy.

So off I went to Best Buy, looking for the cheapest laptop I could find. I ended up with a Toshiba Satellite C655. Aside from being several times larger than my conveniently-sized Netbook, it has a CD/DVD drive. And a shiny new screen with a pretty new pink Hello Kitty background.

Yes, I like Hello Kitty. I’m a girl. Get over it.

But that laptop cost me around $400.::sigh::

Here’s the hoping it lives a good long life.

7 thoughts on “Derailed By A Netbook

  1. It’s ridiculous and pointless to argue with trolls, and I’m aware of the irony of coming to your blog to criticize you for being a troll on somebody else’s blog.

    On the other hand I have been sick for 3 days and I’m getting stir crazy and feel like making some bad decisions.

    It’s clear, and you yourself say, that you struggle with depression and anxiety. That sucks. No way around it, it sucks; I know because I do too. I know what it’s like to feel worthless, and to be unemployed or underemployed and feel like shit about that. I worked for two years at a call center and I have a BA in anthropology from a pretty prestigious college. It sucks. I totally get that, and I hope it gets better for you. I’m doing ok right now, thanks to medication, a really good therapist, finding a career path that makes sense to me, and probably good old fashioned luck and time. I’m not going to say “just do x and you’ll feel better,” because it doesn’t work that way. I’m not doing perfect by any means. It’s a hard time to be a young adult, and I struggle not to let my own issues keep me from enjoying life and doing what I want to do. It is HARD.

    It happens that the career path I have found is working with kids with developmental disabilities, mainly autism, which brings me to my point. Why, oh WHY would you choose to take out your frustrations with life out on a blogger writing about her life and her children, two of whom happen to have disabilities? You say you have trouble with mental illness– are YOU a drain on society like Hallie’s daughter Johanna? I’m pretty sure Down syndrome and albinism are unrelated, so it seems silly to chastise Hallie for having more children. People with disabilities are PART of society. Yes, they do often require special services. That doesn’t make them not valuable as people!

    It is ridiculous to write this, and I know I”m wasting my time. I know you’re a troll because your life is miserable, and I say, I am sorry about that. I guess my point is, having a child with a disability is not a tragedy, for the parent or for society. I’m sure Hallie wouldn’t trade places with you. And if you have to be a troll (as I kind of am right now), do it to people who deserve it, not moms writing perfectly innocuous things about their children. I hope one day you are blessed enough to get to know some of the bright, amazing, funny people in this world who happen to have disabilities.

    Feel better. Life is fucking hard, and I’m not trying to be condescending; it’s just really fucking difficult. Just please, remember that it is hard for everyone, so please be kind.

    Love, Sophie

    • I don’t know where you’re getting that from. I said that American parents are too hard on their children – that, for some reason, they expect their children to fit into perfect little boxes defined by narrow standards.

      As such, according to my argument, having Down’s Syndrome or not being in the gifted program, or whatever else, should not make a child any less worthy – as I see society often make just that judgement.

      That was my point. I did not criticize Hallie for having more children. I simply took issue with the way that American parents define their own expectations and their childrens’ worthiness.

  2. “It’s irresponsible to keep having children when they all clearly have major issues.”

    Also, I believe Hallie’s point was that she herself saw the error in her ways for having these expectations for her kids; clearly she does not believe her daughter to be worthless.

    Also, it’s not very nice to say “I’d rather be dead than be a drain on society like your father.” Maybe those are thoughts you just keep in your head rather than say them to someone in the middle of a family crisis.

Leave a Reply

